Preview: Beethoven Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21. GPO

Available Now!
Purchase 3 Days Access (R100) Subscribe to Brooklyn Theatre (R400 pm)

Starring: Gauteng Philharmonic Orchestra, Adam Szmidt, Lizet Smith

Beethoven Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21

Gauteng Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Adam Szmidt

Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21

Introduction, Theme & Variations
Soloist – Lizet Smith

Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21, was dedicated to Baron Gottfried van Swieten, an early patron of the composer.

The Introduction, Theme & Variations has a suggested composition year of 1809, and is dedicated to Allesandro Abate. An operatic quality pervades the Introduction, Theme and Variations attributed to Rossini. The opening Andante is based on Amaltea’s area “La pace mia smarrita” from Mosè in Egitto (1818); even the florid vocal line is scarcely more elaborate than the fioriture which the singers of the day employed in such pieces (whether or not they had been provided by the composer). The jaunty theme is also by Rossini: it is Malcolm’s cabaletta “Oh quante lacrime” from La donna del lago (1819). The clarinetist’s impressive elaboration of the theme in the five variations and coda which follow is fully in the spirit of the vocal coloratura.

Options via

1. Purchase a ticket today at R100
(Gives you 3 days/72 hour access)

2. Monthly subscription of R400 which will give you access to a selection of archive concerts and upcoming releases. Watch this in your own time and as many times as you want.